Columbus State University

Page Content

CSU Tower Day

Academic Affairs

Tower Day is open to all undergraduate students representing all disciplines and is part of Columbus State University's
Celebration of Academic Excellence. This annual event is a showcase for undergraduate research and creative endeavors.

The Winners of Tower Day 2017

Jonathan Burns 
Best Poster Award  

Real-Time Vowel Determination/Evaluation for Singers: 
An Education Resource for Vocal teachers and students.
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Shellie Debruyn, Dr. Rania Hodhod, 
and Dr. Rodrigo Obando
Department of Music and the TSYS School of Computer Science
Darby High 
Best Poster Award 
Sensory-Friendly Theatre Performances
Faculty Mentor: Professor Molly Claassen
Department of Theatre
Jared Bies
Best Poster Award 
Enhancing Student Interest and Learning in Organic 
Chemistry: Connections, Analogies, and Demonstrations
Faculty Mentor: Dr. James Schreck
Department of Chemistry
Rowan Pitts
Best Poster Award 
Intracellular Survival of Acinetobacter 
Baumannii in Human Neutrophils
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Lauren King
Department of Biology
Mary Kathryn Wright
Best Research Presentation Award
Effects of Belostoma on Behavioral Responses 
in Freshwater Snails
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Clifton Ruehl
Department of Biology
Michelle Chavarria
Best Research Presentation Award
Using Brainwaves to Measure Stimulus-  Evaluation Time  
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Mark Schmidt
Department of Psychology

2017 Tower Day Program

Keynote Speakers: 

Dr. Samuel M. Abegaz is a graduate of Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia (B.S. Chemistry); National Sugar Institute, India (Postgraduate, Industrial Fermentation and Alcohol Technology); Ghent University, Belgium (M.S. Environmental Science and Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry); and Columbus State University, U.S.A (M.B.A.). He did his postdoctoral research at Howard University, Washington, DC. Dr. Abegaz is among the few scientists participated in the 2007 Aerosol and Ocean Science Expedition (AEROSE) on the Atlantic Ocean conducted by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). He is a recipient of several grants from Columbus State University, the Belgian Technical Cooperation, State Department, and the World Bank. He is a member of the American Chemical Society, Phi Beta Delta, Honor Society for International Scholars, and the Georgia Academy of Sciences. He was also a member of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, National Environmental Health Association and Chemical Society of Ethiopia. He is actively involved in STEM initiated outreach programs in different high schools to attract high school students to major in STEM disciplines. Dr. Abegaz has published a number of peer reviewed journals on analytical, environmental, food chemistry, and chemical education topics. He was a recipient of Governor Teaching Fellowship, GTF (2010-2011), Doctoral Fellow of the Belgian Technical Cooperation (BTC), Belgium (2001-2005), Fellow of the Flemish Interuniversity Council (Vlaamse Interuniversitaire Raad/VLIR), Belgium (1998-2000) and a recipient of one of the nation’s most prestigious award, U.S. Fulbright Scholar (2015-2016).

Martha Newell served in the US Army from 2005-2009 and was awarded a Purple Heart during her tour in Iraq. She attended CSU from 2009-2013 and majored in Biology. She was president of Honoris Causa for 2 years and graduated summa cum laude. Her thesis was titled "Analysis of Synephrine content in commercially available diet pills" and was conducted under Dr. Jennifer Newbury. She did her MS work at University of Hawaii, Manoa in the Department of Zoology under Dr. Peter Marko. Her research focused on Symbiodinium diversity in Porites compressa following a natural thermally-driven bleaching event. She will be defending her work  April 21, 2017 . She is currently a NOAA/Sea Grant Dean John A. Knauss fellow with Rep. Don Young, congressman for all Alaska. She works on marine and coastal policy for the Congressman, and organize meetings and events for the Ocean Caucus, Western Caucus, and Arctic Caucus, and assist with the Natural Resources Committee.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.