Text-Only Version | Accessibility Statement


Wael Eldahsan, Graduate student won the “Best research poster award” in Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics at the Augusta University Graduate Research Day. The title of his presentation was “Angiotensin Type 2 Receptor Stimulation With Compound 21 Improves Stroke Outcome in Female Rats.”

Matt Perri
Dr. Matthew Perri's research is the topic of a news release just out from UGA. A CAP professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy, Dr. Perri researches the impact of advertising prescription drugs directly to consumers. His latest study, conducted with two former graduate students and UGA alumni Nilesh Bhutada and Brent Rollins, was recently published in the journal Health Communication and examines consumer perceptions toward the use of animated spokes-characters, such as cartoons. For the complete story, see http://news.uga.edu/releases/article/people-are-more-effective-than-cartoons/

Ewan Cobran
Dr. Ewan Cobran, CAP assistant professor, has been named a 2017-19 UGA Lilly Teaching Fellow, awarded by the UGA Center for Teaching and Learning. Considered the “jewel in the crown” of junior faculty development and engagement on campus, the fellowship is awarded based on a passion for teaching and an eagerness to enrich the faculty experience. Dr. Cobran’s research interests are in the areas of health services research, comparative effectiveness, health disparities, cancer screening, prevention, outcomes, fatalism, survivorship, community-based participatory research, patterns of care, nativity and large data analysis. For more information about the Lilly Teaching Fellowship, see Lilly.

In addition, Dr. Cobran has been selected to attend the National Cancer Institute’s Summer Curriculum in Cancer Prevention program. His area of focus will be “The Principles and Practice of Cancer Prevention and Control,” from July 10-August 4 in Rockville, Maryland. This is a highlight competitive program, and we congratulate Dr. Cobran on this honor.

Congratulations to Dr. Trisha Branan, who recieved UGA's 2017 Creative Teaching Award!

Dr. Brad Phillips was quoted in Columns, regarding the One Year Anniversiary of UGA's Clinical and Translational Research Unit (CTRU).  CTRU will host an open house on Friday, Jan. 27, 2017, from 3-5 PM, on UGA's Health Science Campus

Dr. Merrill Norton wins an Emmy from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences'! Read UGA Columns story

Elisabeth "Lilian" Sattler, featured in UGA's Focus On Faculty. Dr. Sattler is helping students, and the patients they will treat, by focusing on the relationship between nutrition and disease management. 

Congratulations to Drs. Sharmon Osae and Beth Phillips, who have obtained BPS Board Certification in Ambulatory Care. This certification recognizes expertise and knowledge in their area of subspecialty.

Welcome to Drs. Rebecca Stone and Sharmon P. Osae, who are new CAP faculty members. We are very excited for them to join us. Read more here

Dr. Trisha Branan recieved GSHP's 2016 Volunteer Award
Dr. Anthony Hawkins recieved GSHP's 2016 Outstanding Young Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award

Dr. Beth Phillips named Fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists - COP Spotlight

Dr. Henry N. Young featured in Columns for his work with rural communities health.  

Dr, Brain Seagraves was awarded the 2016 Joseph D. Greene Community Service Award on March 29, 2016. To watch his inspiring Recipient Video  click here

Student Awards & Honors

Arwa Fairaq, CET Ph.D. Candidate is featured in UGA's Graduate Spotlight!

Congratulations to Sally Elshaer, who successfully defended her disseration on November 28, 2016! Dr. Elshaer will graduate with her Ph.D. on December 16, 2016. Dissertation title "Modulating Neurotrophin Receptor; P75 Exerts Vascular Protection In Ischemic Retinopathy"

Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties (BPS) certification recognizes excellence in knowledge and practice at the national level.  We are pleased to announce that three of our PGY-2 residents achieved new BPS board certifications.   Drs. Kirby Welston, Maggie Guinta, and Rachel Webb who took the graduate/resident  Clinical Applications (BOARD PGY-2) course became board certified in pharmacotherapy (BCPS).  Sitting for the BCPS exam is an option in the course.  Since inception of the course in 2010, all students have elected to take the BCPS exam and have achieved board certification. 

Surbhi Shah, PHSOP Graduate Assistant and Ph.D. Candidate, is featured in UGA's Graduate Spotlight

Yu Wang, PHSOP Graduate Assistant, abstract won the PMRG Community Advocacy Advancement Student Poster competition and will be featured at the upcoming PMRG Institute meeting in Cherry Hill, NJ, October 24-26, 2016. This award also included funding for travel to the conference. Click to view poster

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.