Columbus State University

Page Content

Nursing Advisory Board

School of Nursing

Nursing Advisory Board


Ongoing and rapid changes in health care, nursing, government, and technology underpin the need for communication and collaboration between nursing education programs and the community they serve. This advisory board provides insight into trends affecting nursing practice, nursing job development and job placement. It also assists in evaluation of program effectiveness, program advocacy and promotion, and support of the nursing program.


The advisory board role is purely advisory. The board has no administrative, management, personnel, or budgetary authority or responsibility, and is not a policy making body. The sole function is to provide support and advice for the nursing education program.


The advisory board offers recommendations

  • in the development of short and long range plans

  • regarding existing and future curriculum content

  • to assist in public relations

  • regarding other matters as needed


The membership of the advisory board is representative of the community and employment market served by the program as well as the nursing education program. It is composed primarily of individuals in the community and employment market who are impacted by the program and who impact the program.

Advisory Board Members 2016

Jill Hiers (Chair)
LaTonya Santo (SON Interim Director)
Bobby Saulnier (Columbus Regional)
Bonnie Franco (Columbus Regional)
Debbie Bostic (St. Francis)
Tammy Brooks (St. Francis)
Cathy Graves (Columbus Dept. of Public Health)
Denotra Gaillard (GA Regents University)
Debbie Saylor (St. Francis)
Frances Franks (Columbus Regional)
John Carter (Azalea Trace)
Kathy English (Three Rivers)
Karon Bush (Columbus Dept. of Public Health)
Lynn Harris (Columbus Tech)
Lorette Hoover (Columbus Tech)
Lynn Kelly (Columbus Regional)
Jennifer Marlowe (St. Francis)
Meghan Hall (Columbus Regional)
Michael Zielaskiewicz (Columbus Regional)
Michelle Breitfelder (Hughston)
Diane Thurman (Valley Healthcare)
Sonja Johnson (Muscogee Manor)
Sonya Hardin (St. Francis)
Tony Miller (Vista Care)
Wanda Johnson (Columbus Hospice)
Delicia Williams (St. Francis)
Shelia Mayfield (Columbus Dept. of Public Health)
Daphne Register (Columbus Regional)
Cary Burcham (Columbus Regional)
Holly Lehmberg (Columbus Regional)
Rhonda Hollis (Professor Emerita)
CSU School of Nursing Faculty

Board Minutes

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.